my happy place…

A little fabric, some thread, 70’s music playing in the background, sweet Emmie at my feet, and my favorite BERNINA 880 makes for a very happy place!

Welcome to my day in the BERNINA Ambassador Blog Tour! A huge thanks to fellow Ambassador, Teri Lucas for organizing this hop.

My beautiful, and oh so talented mother, introduced me to sewing at age 4, and even though I’ve enjoyed a few arts and crafts over the years, quilting has been the most fun and relaxing of all. At age six I inherited mom’s “brown” sewing machine and eventually her “good” scissors, and always asked for “fabric” treats when my parents went out, so you can just imagine how exiting it was to become a fabric designer with Benartex fabrics and a BERNINA Ambassador!I took my first quilting class summer of 2004 and wanted to learn to applique, but my sewing machine didn’t feature the right stitches suggested for the technique, so I needed a new sewing machine! I bought one that didn’t work as hoped, so on my way back from returning it, spotted the BERNINA dealer and you can just imagine what happened next… I brought home a sweet Activa 220… well, today I am so blessed to sew with the awesome B880… …and my assistant approves!

Yes, it has the perfect stitch for applique, many beautiful stitch options, stadium lighting, a huge throat space that makes quilting a pleasure, plus many more incredible features!

Fast forward a few years, and now I get to spend my days designing fabric, quilt patterns, embroidery collections, traveling to teach my favorite quilting techniques, and sharing my love of quilting with my wonderful students.

So glad you stopped by today!

And don’t forget to visit my fellow BERNINA Ambassadors participating in the tour:

Monday March 20
Lynn Carson Harris harrislc@gmail.com
Kelly Ashton kelly@kellyquilter.com
Diane Doran info@dianedoran.com
Melody Crust melody@melodycrust.com

Tuesday March 21
Kathy Delaney kathy@kathydelaney.com
Christa Watson christa@christaquilts.com
Mandy Leins mandalei@gmail.com

Wednesday March 22
Sandy Fitzpatrick hissyfitz@earthlink.net
Beth Ferrier beth@applewd.com
Cheryl Sleboda cherylsleboda@gmail.com

Thursday March 23
Annie Smith annie@anniesmith.net
Lori Kennedy lckennedy@hotmail.com
Kari Carr kari@newleafstitches.com
Catherine Redford catherine@catherineredford.com

Friday March 24
Joann Sharpe jzsharpe@yahoo.com
Cherry Guidry cherry@cherryblossomsquilting.com
Jenelle Montilone jenelle@trashn2tees.com

Cherry
Cherry

3 thoughts on “my happy place…

  1. Mary says:

    Congratulations, Cherry. I grew up sewing on a vintage Singer – straight stitch, but now own a Bernina and love it. That 880 is gorgeous. I can imagine the fun you have with that and your beautiful designs – a perfect match.

  2. Janet Licari says:

    What a great tour this has been…meeting Bernina Ambassadors has been so fun. So much talent and inspiration and every one of them LOVE their machines. A teaching schedule and a line of fabrics plus finding time to sew what you love on your beautiful machine! My grandmother didn’t let me touch her machine but I was inspired by watching her sew clothing. I was so happy when in high school I was able to take a sewing class. I got a machine for my birthday and sewed lots of clothes…until…I saw quilts and had to make one. Best choice I ever made and have been in love with quilting ever since! Thanks for sharing your story!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *